3 Quotes/3 Day Mr Rupley Challenge…

My good friend and fellow poet, Mr. Christopher Rupley, has challenged me to this three quote, three day challenge thing that seems to be going around (like the common cold during this wonderful winter season). So, have a quote…

“Kindness in words creates confidence. 

Kindness in thinking creates profoundness. 

Kindness in giving creates love.”

– Lao Tzu

I thought I would go a little further though, and give you a little background to one of my favourite ancient Chinese philosophers. A teacher who came into my life when I was searching for meaning, and has never left. If you have not read his Tao Te Ching, you really should! It’s a fantastic and beautiful book.

Lao Tzu (Chinese: 老子; pinyin: Lǎozǐ; Wade-Giles: Laosi; also Laozi, Lao Tse, Lao Tu, Lao-Tsu, Laotze, Laosi, Lao Zi, Laocius, Lao Ce, and other variations) was a mystic philosopher of ancient China, best known as the author of the Tao Te Ching (often simply referred to as Laozi). His association with the Tao Te Ching has led him to be traditionally considered the founder of Taoism (pronounced as “Daoism”). He is also revered as a deity in most religious forms of the Taoist religion, which often refers to Laozi as Taishang Laojun, or “One of the Three Pure Ones”. Laozi translated literally from Chinese means “old master” or “old one”, and is generally considered honorific.

    According to Chinese tradition, Laozi lived in the 6th century BCE. Historians variously contend that Laozi is a synthesis of multiple historical figures, that he is a mythical figure, or that he actually lived in the 5th-4th century BCE, concurrent with the Hundred Schools of Thought and Warring States Period. As a result of being a a central figure in Chinese culture, both nobility and common people claim Lao Tzu in their lineage (Goodreads, 2016).

    So, my nominations today will be (if you want to take part, haven’t already, etc.):

    1. Tone at Mister Norcal
    2. Karin at The Eclectic Poet
    3. Lis at Gedichte, Zitate in Einklang mit Bilder

    Go check out their amazing blogs too (by clicking on the names). I promise you won’t be disappointed, they always have beautiful words to offer. Have a wonderful day/evening brilliant followers!

       
      

     
      

    9 thoughts on “3 Quotes/3 Day Mr Rupley Challenge…

      1. It makes me happy to know you have it. It’s one of my top five books. I’d be lost without my copy!

        That being said, I am on my third now, I give it away occasionally to friends I feel would cherish it and purchase a new one. Lao Tzu is a brilliant philosopher.

        1. You are absolutely right about that! Thought-provoking and cause for reflection are the first thoughts that come to mind in reading it. Another favorite of my books is Illusions by Richard Bach, in the thirty years I have owned it I have read it thousands of times. I had to pick up a second copy as the first started to wear out. 🙂

        2. That is wonderful! I’m glad it had such a similar presence in your life. I have a habit of opening it at random, if I need advice or guidance or just to have my spirit lifted. It is very thought provoking and, to me, seems to have so much more truth than many other philosophies/spiritualities/religions XD

        3. I am smiling at what you just said. In Illusions, it makes reference to opening a book or pages of any kind when you have something on your mind, and usually, something applicable appears. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    