Alice

Were flames all that consumed the girl-

silhouetted across the moon

with skin as smooth as yellow hymns-

burgundy dreamer- danced with limbs

of colour lapping at her feet- was she sweet-

all she asked was a shilling a kiss-

bliss- and felicitous with iron will-

and now she looks at him-

but sees the empty seat-

lost upon an ocean of greys-

not knowing the only heart that beats

would grace paths in lasting

droves and comings woes-

he smiles and sinks beneath her waves

as ships collide to give her grace-

deepening graves

become the-best-laid-plans

against her bare ankles-

 

They sank-

darker and darkest- sprite and spiral-

Along the rival night of life-

before her eyes sight the best way home-

they sank into undertones that scald

with dangerous liaisons-

raptures beneath her sea-through-stockings-

locking home with hope- and he hopes

to taste those lips- eclipse

the dawn in rave and slip

to heaven within- her wit- to know

gods mind between her breasts-

lost and found- to pull her in

and take a trip- in flame and azure fantasise-

falling through her rabbit hole-

Poem © Phen Weston 2015

10 thoughts on “Alice

      1. Thank you, Callum. That means a lot to me too. I also admire your words and you 🙂 I will leave a glowing review for you as soon as I can 🙂 and then get your other book… I hope you are working on another too.

      2. That’s amazing – I look forward to reading your thoughts.

        As for future works, there are a few things in early stages of being written that will hopefully see the light of day eventually. I’m hoping we’ll see another collection from you as well 🙂

      3. I’m glad to hear there will be more to come from you. I look forward reading them 🙂 There is definitely more to come from me, I have another in the works… But, between my day job and my Masters, time is stretched thin. I will definitely keep writing though.

Leave a Reply

