Capricious Friends

Your flattery didn’t last,
the fickle blast between that truth,
that nothing I did could ease
the unpredictability of your tongue. But 
these in turn were never mine,
in strife or time to know. There
carved within the rows of bone 
lies the knowledge of erratic loyalties.
That your distaste for me today
was only your fitful desires recognised
in words lost, received, renewed.
The fleeting touch of ‘the club’, where I
was the shifting flavour of your month.
A kin-hood dubious with passing pause, each
only lasting as long as your flaws pretend this
was anything more
than troubled capricious friendship.
  
  
© Phen Weston 2015

5 thoughts on “Capricious Friends

    1. Thank you, brother. I completely agree, and unfortunately there seem to be more of them than genuine people, playing your best friend until the wind turns. We are very good, thank you. I hope you are too! And the teachings going well?

      1. Things are going as well as they could at the moment, but I’m still aching for the balance I need in my life so that I can find time to study and take my damn test. I’m still marching forward, brother…It’s when life starts getting easy that I start to really worry…

Leave a Reply

