Arbitrary Defense Mechanisms

*Although this is a collaboration between myself and Christopher, i dont feel i can take credit. I had some influence, but this fantastic poem is mainly thanks to him. If you don’t already know his work, please check him out. He is a brilliant writer and a great friend. Have a good Monday and week everyone!*

Stone figurines judge and
I take down another bottle of sorrow,
while plastic eyes soon comatose
the little stings of emotions
I deposit for postponed days

I have no more lies
to hide neatly nestled between,
and die exposed
to all the shame I placed –
ineffable and nameless –
at your feet.

Your eyes and motions
uncharitable,
are coupled with an icy,
repugnant stare,
as if your frailty,
mishaps,
and shortcomings
are less documented,
or more worthy of
forgiveness than those
that plague my sanity

I would point you
in the direction of your
very own logic,
but that would only further
complicate the contradiction
you carry so proudly…

© Christopher Rupley and Phen Weston 2015

Leave a Reply

