You Are the Silent Ocean

“Forgiveness is not always easy. At times, it feels more painful than the wound we suffered, to forgive the one that inflicted it. And yet, there is no peace without forgiveness.” – Marianne Williamson

  

Swim off happier shores,

I see no words for you to starve

with agonising emotions held,

I am the prisoner you do not know,

condemned by fortunes 

less than the soul I gave you,

and never making land again,

do I drown in helpless infinity?

  

Hoping for your body to give

amongst others dreads,

and guide me back to loves refrain,

shall I say I sinned?

Forgiveness is your whim and I

will hear its tune in every word you speak

that’s never aimed at me.

  

For me, you are the silent ocean,

crashing into nothingness,

and I fall below, and never did you care,

but all my dreams lead back to you

being something more than death,

A lover, who gave life in shivered caress,

shimmering away between waves,

beating shores with tenderness,

in that tenderness I drown.

  

Water becomes a theme, renounced

of the beauty it persuades,

only washing me in mistakes

and leaving you always free,

never more and never less

than each struggling endless breath,

would you look for me there?

I washed my sins in your soul,

saturating in your antipathy.

    

Poem © Phen Weston 2015

6 thoughts on “You Are the Silent Ocean

    1. Yes, I completely agree. Forgiveness is a must, for both the one forgiving, and (if someone shows they are truly sorry) the person being forgiven. It lifts heavy hearts.

Leave a Reply

