Roses Ran

Roses ran the length of her thighs. Stocking fillers disguised
as ruby hearts for the queens table. She
married above the lives of oak and flies, wooden, fragile. Promising to return to him one day before the case grew cold,
conclusions tomorrow. Nevermore did pretext go away
than when she laid with his soul for less, was there distress?
Signal flares betwixt ruins dreams and sharpened claws,
She took him in, deep. Felt his prose and bled his weakness
into those empty sheets. The shell and ghosts of Roman centurions,
copulations and daggers. But those thighs burned, dominated silence
With words to keep him begging. They burned and she opened.
Calling furious desires into little lamented shadows.
Harpooned hearts that collapsed at lusts thrusting chaos.
“Come to me”, she cried in tears of embers,
rejoicing in the warmth of blistering lovers.
She held them close and stole their dreams away. Blackened
by the need to retaliate in wakened states of haunted hopes.
The callus kiss and dry love of those too weak to remember
once they lived as kings in Eden.
The right hand paladin of angels.
Where only light felt the naked yearning between her thighs.
The concubine of godless warning mixed within the foaming ride
of all the pragmatic sons to come. And galaxies collapsed, orgasmed,
spewed matter at ten million lives per second. All to turn her whim
into something more than romance and kin. Lie, lie, lie.
She stole them all.
Opened her legs and blackholes swallowed
all the pain between desires,
untill rebirth unfurled its distaste.
“But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.”*



* Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening, Robert Frost

Poem © Phen Weston 2015

12 thoughts on “Roses Ran

  1. Wow! As corny as this sounds, my favorite word in this is betwixt! I remember using it one time in a creative writing class on a piece when I was in college, and they scorned me, telling me it was to archaic! Well, they can go jump in a lake for all I care! Great lines…

      1. Bah, humbug! That was years ago for me! I write how I want now…and so do you. Those people couldn’t contain our unique styles then, and they couldn’t touch us with a 10-foot pole now if they wanted to 🙂

      2. I completely agree. If Shakespeare could invent hundreds of words, we can use archaic ones. There they’re to be used. Maybe we can start a new revival? Haha

      3. You should still love it. Don’t let anyone choose your lexis. After all the language of society these days is atrocious at times. YOLO! (I hate that saying)

  2. This is pure awesomeness, Phen. So many fantastic lines, and I’m really liking this one: “Calling furious desires into little lamented shadows. / Harpooned hearts that collapsed at lusts thrusting chaos.”; and this: “And galaxies collapsed, orgasmed, / spewed matter at ten million lives per second.”

    Once again, your scope and word choices have left me in awe!

    1. Thank you Ben. I’m always glad and humbled when you enjoy my work. I look up to you as a masters and teacher when it comes to words. I’m always honoured by you. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

