Three Tankas And An Update

Take two… My iPad decided it wanted to post this without me and before I’d finished. Sorry for the confusion. There is an update below.

***************************

Subtlety did not
Swim the seashore of strange spheres,
Too distant to drown
In thrashing lost dominions,
Dissolutions mirrored dreams,

Dreams caught up in times
Delinquent cursed repertoire,
Striding like dead kings,
The little lies of fever
Oblique to the dogs of war,

They vanish into
Conquests of tomorrow’s lore,
Insinuating
There was more to this playhouse,
Than the dying of the light.

Poem © Phen Weston 2014

***************************

Update

I love the Tanka, such a beautiful form of poetry. You can express so much in those little lines. If you’ve never written one try it out. It’s a simple 5-7-5-7-7 syllable count… Oh! This isn’t the update, just me getting distracted.

So, I decided today to revamp my blogs layout and theme. Time for a change and to shake things up. Let me know what you think. I’m still playing around with it and I’m not sure myself.

The book is officially out and has already sold a few copies. Thank you very much if anyone here has purchased it. I’m very grateful. I still find it strange and wonderful seeing it actually in print. I haven’t even been blogging for a year yet and to go from that to publishing is truly something amazing. And it’s all thanks to you guys!

Anyone who is interested here are the links for the UK an US:

UK HERE

US HERE

It’s also on Kindle and Kindle unlimited if you’re on that. Thanks again though.

I haven’t had as much time to keep up with things in the last few months, with starting my final year at Uni, work and commuting for four hours a day, times been scarce. This should change at the beginning of next year though. New classes and less days. So by then I should be back to posting every day.

But mainly I want to say thank you to all of you. This blog keeps growing in numbers and each day I’m astonished to see this and the amazing comments left. It means a great deal.

Anyway, enjoy the Tankas and keep reading my friends. Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Kindest regards,
Phen

4 thoughts on “Three Tankas And An Update

  1. This was great, i recently found out about Haiku´s also 5-7-5 as you well know and spend almost an hour to do two of them. But that hour past by quickly, got me hooked. I knew about Tanka but had no clue about it´s rules , I know I could have looked it up on the internet but I´m too lazy and times seem to fly by when I get to writing my own things that I feel I need more hours in the day, so appreciated very much that you took the time at the end to introduce me to the know how of this form of poetry.

    1. I’m glad to have helped. I completely agree with you about not enough hours in the day. They seem to go by so fast and I never have enough for all that I have planned. I look forward to reading your Tankas my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

