Phantasma

I fell in love to the music of your night,
Laying my soul bare at your feet,
As naked as our interlocking bodies
On that fatefully metamorphic night,

Who knows when love takes flight?
Is it simply there inside a heart?
Through echoes of connections
We fool senses to abandoned defences,

Sweet emotive taste came forcefully,
Holding tight and firm to the faint fever
Of faces in your mirror, And all I asked?
Hope, longing, one love, one lifetime,

Were we so young for foolish dreaming?
In your eyes I never lived, shackled,
Blind to every scene in our romance,
Your perfect face paraded pretence

Of hearts purpose, a masquerade,
And now I am the phantom, ever lost
To your narcissistic memories,
Yet you still do not see all I gave

To feel your longing through dark light,
To each other we are nothing more
Than the ghosts of so many years ago,
Faded notes denying the music of the night.

IMG_2679.JPG
Poem © Phen Weston 2014

19 thoughts on “Phantasma

  1. josh

    phen i think you are a misunderstood poet. a lot of people would think you are really this dark personbut i dont think you arre and this poem is truly amazing

    1. Thank you for the comment. I’m glad you think there is more to my poems than darkness. I think I am like any other human being, I have both dark and light moments. I’m glad to hear you enjoy my work. Thank you 🙂

      1. josh

        i have presented it t my class and they said they loved it. a few of them actually said that phantasma was their favorite poem

Leave a Reply

