Reaching From The Other Side (Duet with Just Patty)

By Phen Weston and Just Patty

(I’m lucky enough to have had the chance finish another poem with the great and talented Just Patty before going away. She is a lot of fun to work with and has such a great gift for words. I’ve linked her below if any of you don’t already know her work.)

IMG_2626.JPG

I stare in the distance

Searching

Waiting

For your return

A promise made

Sealed by the softest kiss

And just as volatile

 

Clandestine

Crestfallen

I walked so long

To find your warm

Diaphanous touch

What came to pass

Betwixt our dreams?

 

I hope to see a glimpse

Of passion

Affection

In your eyes

An undeniable love

Pleaded with fire

And just as destructive

 

Ignited paroxysm

Seeks lost intervals,

I stand

Beside fallen passion,

Sense me here!

Folding beneath

Your searching eyes.

 

I pray for one last day

Embraced

Without haste

In your arms

A safe and gentle place

Like a fairytale

And just as untrue

 

Connects consume

The frailty of day,

Is your grasp

An illusion?

In your arms I slip

away, a phantom

Nevermore to stay.

 

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself and Just Patty. Check out her beautiful blog, if you haven’t already – https://petitemagique.wordpress.com )

© Phen Weston 2014 & © Patty Van Delft 2014

7 thoughts on “Reaching From The Other Side (Duet with Just Patty)

  1. Phen & Patty, Beautifully done, you two! And the Phen graphic photo is brilliant bringing home the message here…..adding a Poe aura to it! Phen, Patty sent us over here! Wonderful website. I think Patty has brought me over here before this too! Phil from excuseusforliving.com

    1. Hello. Thank you so much for you comment. I’m honoured you like my work. Patty is an amazing poet and such a pleasure to work with. She is inspiring and beautiful. I’m looking forward to working with her again. Have a great week my friend.

Leave a Reply

