Mémoire de Paris

I long for bustling streets
That irrevocably stole
My ravenous fascination,
Crime passionnel,
We walked animated
Roads, attentive avenues,
That trickle life from
The measures of history,
Reflective ripples
Of the flowing Seine,
Thoroughfares crowd
With beings of life
Like winding memories
Of chapters turned,
A city of time, formed
To make the senses
Swoon with possibilities,

Pockets of humanity,
Pulsing pace and purpose
Into nightly dreams,
How can blushing souls
Not find love in the brick
Heart of the city of light
When, for ten thousand years,
Life chose her as haven
For its fledgling society?
The Empathic city,
A living breathing organism,
Moving, melding, mimicking
Human experience,

Where heroes of my breast
Walked, lived, loved,
To find their meaning,
Purpose, words,
Mastery reverberates
Their calling in every
Timber, every brick
Stone, nail, joint, frame,
Part, that holds it
To our world,
Or else would it float
Above existence?
It anchors them to it,
And, through it, to me,

The boulevards hold
Adventures, secrets
That my heart cries
To hungrily discover,
It is the amour of my being,
The city that drums
With each beat of me,
Echoing the melody
Of extravagant streets
Love, life, hate, death,
All caught in her breath,
And how I wish
To breathe with her
Again,

Paris, my city, my heart
I miss your streets
Beneath my lost soul.

IMG_2420.JPG
Poem © Phen Weston 2014
Image © Phen Weston 2014

6 thoughts on “Mémoire de Paris

  1. Desiree G

    I love this piece. I have never been to Paris, but I long to go there, or Venice, or Athens — and lose myself in the history, the romance, the mystique … never to be found again.

    1. Thank you very much 🙂 You should visit Paris. it is a beautiful city, you can feel the life beneath your shoes. I want to go back again. Athens would be beautiful too, I’d love to go there. We are hoping to Venice next year maybe, not entirely sure yet. It will be a perfect adventure 🙂

      1. Desiree G

        Going anywhere new, with discoveries to be made, memories to be created with someone you love … that is always a perfect adventure!!

  2. @”Paris, my city, my heart
    I miss your streets
    Beneath my lost soul…”

    simply magnifique, you did touch my heart, Sir… ❤ I lived in Paris for several years and our 2 "old kids"(LOL!) were born there… 🙂

    1. I’m very glad to hear that 🙂 Paris stole my heart in the very short time we were there. But it was beyond perfect. I will be going back one day to explore more and absorb that energy that it gives to the world. It is a beautiful city 🙂

Leave a Reply

