Thomas

If you had known how it would end
Would you have gone to war?
All that you have left my friend
What did your soul die for?

Words recorded on a wall?
Your name is now a fleeting thought
In Flanders, where you did fall,
A foreign grave, in foreign soil,

At Epehy you stood your ground,
Three hundred machine guns blazed,
A barrage, such a deafening sound,
This was your final day,

When did you fall? When the order came?
The whistle blew? Or when their flanks held?
Three solitary miles we took,
But you never made it back,

To us you are so much more
Than a name carved in indifferent stone,
The courageous hero, the spirited youth,
Who never made it home,

Bold Private Thomas Beardmore,
The Royal Norfolk Regiment,
Brave soldier of the First World War
Brother, Son and friend,

Yet little we known about you,
Not a photograph remains,
Of the boy who died in fear forlorn,
In the bloodiest of campaigns,

Your story is simply one,
Not unlike so many names,
Six millions long absent sons,
Lions led by donkeys to cold fate,

And what comfort for us that lost
A son, husband, father?
All the dreams they could have dreamed,
The years despotic lies condemned,

“He whom this scroll commemorates
At the call of King and Country
Passed out of the sight of men”

For forsaken duty and sacrifice

If you had known how it would end
Would you have gone to war?
All that you have left my friend
What did your soul die for?

Image

Poem © 2014 Phen Weston

6 thoughts on “Thomas

    1. Oh definitely, it still needs asking today, with all those young men being sent to pointless wars. You’d have thought that after a war as horrific as World War One we would have learnt to avoid them, except when the threat is too great. Not for profit or oil.

      My uncle was 23 when he died at the Somme. No one alive in my family now knew him or have ever had the chance to visit his grave in France. But that will be changed oneday 🙂

      1. That is so sad Phen. My heart can’t comprehend this senseless violence. I can barely watch the news or read a newspaper because it is full of nothing but horrific events. I get worried because the law of attraction is real…and it seems there is more propaganda and reporting of negative events in this world than there are stories and events about love and kindness. I think that is why I love my connections here because I have connected with so many who come from love.
        I wish you love and peace! ❤

      2. I agree with you 100% 🙂 the world is full of terrible deeds that seem to grow more every day. It is such a shame for our species.

        I am also glad for all the people I have met through here, all the new connections and pathways. There is a great community here. I am also glad you found my blog, so that I could get to know yours and you.

        Have a beautiful week my friend.
        Peace to you ❤

  1. F.G.M.

    What a moving tribute Phen! And what a powerful reminder… there were so many young men like your uncle. But you know, as a French and as a lover of Germany, and a European citizen, I would say the way Europe has built a peaceful common house after WWII is a real example for the world. I mean, these men were “killed” by this murderer “war”, but peace needed a substrate, and their death have made peace possible.
    There were men of good will between WWI and WWII who tried to promote peace, like Aristide Briant and Gustav Stresemann, unfortunately they failed… but after WWII hope, reason and peace raised again…
    Today, we don’t realize, especially young people… it’s very sad, because peace is a miracle, and your uncle is a part of this miracle. Yes, a part of it.
    “What did your soul die for?”
    First of all, I don’t think his soul died, his body did… his life was taken. He died for you, for me, for those who live in peace today. It’s the reason why it’s so important to write such a beautiful tribute. Thank you my friend!

    1. Thank you very much. I completely agree. There has been so much good that has come in the last 60 years because of the large sacrifice made by all those involved in both wars. I also agree that the young these days do not generally understand the significance of those events. But they have lived in a completely different world. The war is beyond their comprehension because the world has moved on and progressed so much.

      I agree with why he died too. Thank you for the great comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

