The Forgiving Dead

When you see me lying there
Do you think there is the enemy?
When you stand and stare
Down as I bleed across the ground
Am I human to you?
When I was young
My father sat me down
And told me “Son, the world
Is wide and beautiful.
Filled with so many
Beautiful people and souls”
Am I beautiful to you?
The beautiful fallen
Flanders folly depicted
We are not enemies
But one heart, one soul
One species that claims
Waste to all beauty
Given by gods and goddesses
And as my dying crimson carries
Away the fears, from my eyes
Fades the long forgotten hatred
You are beautiful
Because you are alive
Hating
Loving
Human
And I forgive you
And I love you!

20140301-212752.jpg
Poem © Phen Weston

2 thoughts on “The Forgiving Dead

Leave a Reply

